Things They Don’t Tell You in Library School

by Monique C.

I (somewhat jokingly) mentioned on Twitter that I would start a blog all about the things that they forgot to mention while I was in library school a few years ago. Of course, library school can’t prepare you for everything you’re likely to encounter as a librarian, but a heads up would have been appreciated. While I won’t actually create an entire blog dedicated to that particular subject (keeping up with one blog is enough), I hope to at least post what I can from time to time.

In professional development news, I’ve been in a management position for a little over three months and it’s been eye-opening to say the very least. I’m still attempting to find my footing both as a new employee at New Institution and as a manager all while trying to figure my way around a new city.

